Seton Nossiter Park
Brandon’s Rock, the highest point on the Paparangi ridge, and is a two-minute walk from Edgecombe Street, up a small hill, Brandon's rock has a stunning 360-degree view of the Tararua Range, the Hutt Valley, the harbour, Wellington City, Cook Strait and the skyline of the western hills. Next door is a Playground
Paparangi is the Māori name for the long ridge running from the entrance to Ngauranga Gorge to Horokiwi.
The rock is named after Alfred de Bathe Brandon, who owned land in the Newlands area. Brandon arrived in 1840 and was a prominent lawyer, provincial councillor, parliamentarian and crown prosecutor. There were two unsuccessful attempts to mine gold on Brandon’s land and the property next door.
Brandon’s Rock, known by sailors as the Nun’s Cap, was used as a navigation point before the introduction of harbour beacons. Ships entering the harbour could keep clear of Barrett Reef by staying east of a line from Brandon’s Rock to Point Gordon.
Article on Brandon's Rock
Gilberd Bush Reserve
The track through the reserve has good views of the harbour, Matiu/Somes Island and the Orongorongo Range.
Gilberd Bush Reserve is in Newlands with entrance and exit points of Ladbrooke Drive, Bayswater Place and Fernhaven Grove.
This bush-clad Newlands gully has a wide, well-formed track which gently zig-zags down from the highest point at Ladbrooke Grove, then crosses the gully to the entrances at Bayswater Place and Fernhaven Grove. It is a Well-graded track with a couple of steeper sections. Suitable for buggies.
Wellington Walks Information CLICK HERE